How the Editor of Windows Magazine Became an Apple Fanboy | Cult of Mac


I’ve been in denial for a while, but it hit me so hard yesterday that I finally have to admit it: I’m an Apple fanboy. Once you hear my story, you’ll agree that if it can happen to me, it can happen to anyone.

My first job out of college was as a reporter for a small California newspaper company in the late 1980s. It was a Mac shop. All the reporters had regular Macs (tiny screens, massive keys on the keyboard with like an inch of key travel). But the editors used what at the time were “giant” screens to do page layout (in hindsight, they were probably only 17-inch screens, or something like that). When I got promoted to managing editor, I was thrilled because that meant I got to do the page layout and use the big screens.

The year was 1990. I used a DOS PC at home, and a Mac at work. I loved journalism, especially the writing of opinion columns. But I didn’t really give a flying rat’s behind about local NIMBY politics. I loved computers. So I decided to seek employment in the growing field of computer magazines.

For those of you under the age of 25, a magazine is a blog made out of trees

Anyway, I landed a job as managing editor at a tiny startup publication called Windows & OS/2 Magazine. At least, that’s what it was called for the third issue. The second issue had been called OS/2 and Windows Magazine. The first issue was called OS/2 Magazine. As you might have guessed, the “GUI” scene for DOS-based PCs was in something of a transition period.

Windows was exploding in users, heading by 1991 for the 4-million user mark, which drove big interest in our little magazine. So we were acquired by New York-based CMP Media, and relaunched the publication as Windows Magazine.

Read the entire article here:
How the Editor of Windows Magazine Became an Apple Fanboy | Cult of Mac.

Leave a Reply

