Disable “Reopen Windows When Logging Back In” in Mac OS X Lion Completely | OSX Daily

You may have noticed that when you log out or reboot Mac OS X Lion, you get a dialog window with a checkbox next to “Reopen windows when logging back in” that restores all of your currently open applications and windows.

If you don’t like it and you’re tired of unchecking the box to no longer reopen the windows, you can use a third party script to render the feature useless. To clarify, what this does is disable the feature completely on a constant basis, regardless of whether that checkbox to preserve windows is checked or not, the windows will not restore.

While this is part of OS X Lion’s Resume feature, this is different than disabling app Resume completely or on a per application basis, because this only effects reboots and logouts.

Get the full instructions here: Disable “Reopen Windows When Logging Back In” in Mac OS X Lion Completely | OSX Daily

Advertisements

One thought on “Disable “Reopen Windows When Logging Back In” in Mac OS X Lion Completely | OSX Daily

  1. As soon as we read this we were actually more encouraged as a family to setting up separate accounts on the iMac. This initially became an issue through my inability to share =). The thought of sorting through the carryover from mine, my wife’s, or our sons information with technological interests being so scattered was enough to just avoid the idea as a whole. Such a simple concept and fix to a diva-ish annoying undertone for all us picky mackers. Thank you for the post and enlightenment.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s